Janice Hall Heck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow. A Rooster Crows. Church of Saint Peter in Gallicantu, Jerusalem

The WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge for week of August 2, 2013: Post a photograph that evokes FORESHADOW to you.

Photo credit: Janice Heck  In the courtyard of The Church of Saint Peter in Gallicantu, Mount Zion, Jerusalem

Photo credit: Janice Heck. In the courtyard of The Church of Saint Peter in Gallicantu, Mount Zion, Jerusalem  (Gallicantu means “cock’s crow.”)

In the Bible, Jesus foreshadowed an event to come when he said:

I tell you, Peter, the rooster shall not crow this day before you will deny three times that you know me.

A tableau with Peter, a woman who questions Peter, a Roman soldier, and a rooster on a pillar above, portrays this well-known biblical scene of Peter denying that he knows Jesus.

Photo credit: Janice Heck Peter: "Woman, I know him not."

Photo credit: Janice Heck, Non novi illum. Luke 22:57
Peter: “Woman, I know him not.”

A shrine to Peter’s denial of Christ was built in 457 AD in this location (Mount Zion), but it was destroyed in 1010. It was rebuilt in 1102 by Crusaders, but that too was later destroyed. It was not rebuilt until 1931 when the Church of Saint Peter in Gallicantu was built. This tableau is in the courtyard of the church.

Here’s how others have interpreted “Foreshadow.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow. A Rooster Crows. Church of Saint Peter in Gallicantu, Jerusalem

  1. If I have got the time, I’ll go look for the rooster. I’m in the neighborhood.

    • Good. Just look up when you are in the courtyard of St. Peter in Gallicantu. You live in Israel? I loved my visit there, but far too short a time. I will be blogging about that trip. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a comment