JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

Look Up, Look Down: Little Italy, San Diego

This “Look Up, Look Down” photo challenge can be found at Travel with Intent.

Look up.  See the lights and street sign for Little Italy, “a hip and historic urban neighborhood” in San Diego and a fun place to explore both night and day. Good places to eat, good food, good conversation, street entertainment, and a constant parade of sights. Don’t miss it.

NJ Sculpture, CA desert 049   Seeing my favorite little cartoon friend, Topo Gigio, up on a street banner made me smile.NJ Sculpture, CA desert 040

LIttle Italy has a mile-long walk on India Street complete with 1/8 mile markers to measure your progress. But the whole of Little Italy encompasses 48-square blocks, and you can wander around for hours.

NJ Sculpture, CA desert 055

Here’s my favorite “look down”: a quote on the sidewalk!

NJ Sculpture, CA desert 041

I love Italian food, and my friend and I walked back and forth down the mile-long street looking at all the delicious offerings on the menus posted outside the restaurants. We finally settled on Trattoria Fantastica and plates of pasta so huge, we had to take half back to our hotel.

NJ Sculpture, CA desert 046

The bonus of the evening was the serenade during dinner.

NJ Sculpture, CA desert 043

If you go to San Diego, be sure to visit Little Italy. You’ll love it as much as we did.

The Last Meow

Hey, we cats like spaghetti, too. Here’s the proof: “Spaghetti Cat.”

Meow for now.  =<^;^>=

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Look Up, Look Down: Little Italy, San Diego

  1. Hi Janice, great post. I love that Topo Gigio poster too. I’ve been to San Diego (a long time ago… ) but not Little Italy. Now added to my ever growing list of places to visit, and eat! And thanks for joining the Look Up, Look Down challenge with such a bright and fun entry. Debbie

    • Thanks for your comment and welcome. I do have a few more “Look up, Look down” photos to post. The photo challenges really encourage closer scrutiny when taking photos. A few of my friends think I overtake pictures, but I like to get views from different angles. Sometimes there are surprises. And sometimes I just get a lucky shot.

  2. I’ve never been there but looks like a great place to visit. I love Italian food (having been raised on it!). Nice photos.

  3. It looks like a great place to visit. One of our sons has been to Italy while he was in the Navy and he said the food is delicious.

    • We enjoyed being in San Diego and loved our day spent in Little Italy. The weather was perfect and we wandered around for hours. We had some delicious food there. I wanted to spend more time there. Maybe next time. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

