JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

WordPress Photo Challenge: Focus on The Very Hungry Caterpillars

Last week I looked out my screen door only to discover an army of caterpillars dressed in green military fatigues chomping their way through my once thriving pot of parsley. I took several pictures to document the devastation, but my battery was low, and I could not get the focus right.

059

I charged the camera battery for about a half an hour, hoping the crawling critters would still be mowing the parsley so I could get a few focused pictures. Note that the focus improved once the battery had enough charge.

062

The caterpillars climb bare stalks looking for more of that good, leafy stuff.

063

Here the little herbivores go out on a limb to get the very last bites of leafy green. And look at that guard cat…asleep on the job…again. Fired!

The Last Meow

What? Me asleep on the job. No way. I know these green cuties will soon be sweet little flutterbys and will gather around all of your lovely butterfly bushes. See, I am always thinking about you. (That caterpillar on my ear did tickle a bit!)

Photo credit: dotsamson.wordpress.com

Photo credit: dotsamson.wordpress.com

Meow for now. =<^;^>=    

PS. Do you remember reading The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle in Kindergarten? Kids love that book and ask to hear it read or read it themselves over and over again.  Here Darren Robert McTurk reads this well-loved book for you.

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “WordPress Photo Challenge: Focus on The Very Hungry Caterpillars

  1. Fun blog – I’m contending with the darn grasshoppers eating everything in their path – gurr.

  2. Those caterpillars can do a lot of damage in a short period of time. I found hornworms for the first time this year on my tomatoes. The tomatoes looked like some deer had browsed them, except I never heard of deer eatingn tomato leaves! And the damage was so high up, no rabbit or groundhog could have done it. so when I looked more closely, I found this 5-inch long caterpillar on steroids, nicely draped around a stem for camouflage. The hornworms do not only eat the leaves but also eat into the tomatoes themselves.

    • You are so right about the caterpillars. After they stripped my first pot of parsley, they moved on to my bigger pot and stripped that clean, too. Now, though, I am enjoying all the butterflies in my yard.

Leave a Reply

