JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

#WANAfriday: Travel Dreams

wana logo

Every Friday, a WANA (We Are Not Alone) member posts a question for members to answer.

This week’s question:  If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?

Last year, I spent two weeks in Italy (my third visit), but on that trip, I got to know the country much better. In Rome, my sister-in-law, Carol, and I stayed in a centrally located hotel close to Navona Square, convenient to many of the tourist spots, and walked everywhere. We claimed the city as our own.

The Italy trip revived my interest in going back to France for several weeks or longer. I have been to France several times, once with college group, then later with a friend. We went as tourists and did all the tourist things: Eiffel Tower, Notre-Dame Cathedral, the Louvre Museum, Versailles Palace, and more.

But on my next trip to France, I would like to take a good city map, revisit the tourist spots, but then just wander the streets and see where they take me. I studied French in both high school and college, and while I have forgotten most of it, I would like to warm it up again. Tea and crumpets at an outdoor café on the Champs Elysees sounds nice, too.

For right now though, I think I will follow a nifty idea presented by The Rider: Travel to exotic places through others’ blogs.  I will check out blogs for France.

MegTravels has a checklist to help me get ready for my trip to France. (Maybe I will spill over into Spain and Portugal.)

And here are other WANAs and their travel wishes:

The Last Meow

Henri, the French existentialist cat articulates the pain of existence here.

(Bleh. Only a French cat would see life this way! Get a life, Henri.)

cat with shades imagesCAOWRXCZ

Meow for now.   =<^_^>=

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “#WANAfriday: Travel Dreams

  1. Pingback: If I Could Go Anywhere, Where Would I Go? | Liv Rancourt

  2. Okay, the existentialist cat thingy? What a hoot! It makes me wonder what MY cats are thinking…
    😉
    Nice post, Janice!

  3. Italy, France–works for me.

  4. I like this question about where to travel! Thanks for mentioning the checklist post too 🙂

  5. Shades of “Midnight in Paris”? I agree, it would be wonderful to have lots of time and just wander… last time I was in Paris I wandered around a really interesting cemetery.

    • I loved our wandering in Rome, and we found such interesting hidden gardens and surprising statues. We reviewed a little history along the way. No crowds where we walked.

  6. Pingback: Anywhere I like? In the world? | Ellen Gregory

  7. I would like to explore more of France. Actually, I’d like to explore more of just about everywhere. France is a good place to start, though. 🙂

    • You and me both, Tami. My motto is “anytime, anywhere.” I have some ancestors who lived in Paris, as well as in Germany, Switzerland, and Alsace-Lorraine. I think my relatives left Alsace-Lorraine sometime before 1900 when the Germans came into control (1871-1919). I have a nephew who now lives in Germany and who has been exploring these areas looking for family information. I would love to spend a whole season in these areas.

  8. Wandering seems to be the preferred way to travel among the WANAs! Such amazing things to find that you could never plan. Love it!

  9. Sounds like an enriching trip. It’s fun to visit all the must-see tourist spots. But getting to know the people and the places the locals frequent is the best type of travel experience for me.

    • I agree. Talking about all of this makes me want to schedule a trip, but alas, I have several other necessary trips first (family related). France has to wait a bit.

  10. Everybody is making me wistful for travel!
    Janice – I love your “Tea and crumpets at an outdoor café on the Champs Elysees”
    I would like to follow your suggestion of just getting lost there.

    Love the cat. That’s Attitude!

    • Hi Suzanne, Yes, talking about travel gets me itchy to go again. And the cat–there are several more Henri videos on Internet. I love his attitude, too. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

