JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

X Bonus: Xena, Warrior Puppy, Helps Autistic Boy

Bonus X in the A to Z Challenge. This my second X post. Click the title to read the first one,  X is for X-It (exit) Strategy.a-to-z-letters-2013

Read a  very touching story about an eight-year-old autistic child, Jonny Hickey, and his very lovable Xena 3 tdy-130424-xenaforlaura4_photoblog600dog, Xena, the Warrior Puppy.  Click on Today Health to read the full story.

The dog, who was perhaps four-months-old when he was found and brought to an animal shelter in Georgia, had been abused and was in very poor condition. Health recovered, he now lives happily with Jonny.   This arrangement has been a blessing for both of them. Get your tissues out.

Animals can be used in therapy with all kinds of special needs situations. Next week, I’ll tell you about a dog who spends his days in a nursing home where my sister lives.

The Last Meow.

Well, I guess some dogs are okay. This one seems to be a nice fella, so he can visit here on our blog. But just a visit. That’s it. The general rule is NO DOGS ALLOWED, but we will make an exception just this once.?????????????????????????????????????????????????

Meow for now.  =<^.^>=

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “X Bonus: Xena, Warrior Puppy, Helps Autistic Boy

  1. As a confirmed dog (and cat) lover, this story made my day! Animals really are the companions are our heart. Thanks for sharing this second x entry:)

  2. Not only is this a truly beautiful story, I’m so impressed that you’ve come up with a SECOND x entry when even one would seem difficult!

  3. What a wonderful ending (and new beginning) … for both the boy and the dog. Thank you for brightening my day. 🙂

  4. Animals are beautiful and wonderful and so valuable to our lives. 🙂

    Have fun with the rest of a-z. 🙂

    • A to Z finished! Now I can get on with my life. I’ll try to blog two or three times a week. I have left over letter topics I want to finish.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  5. It is a fabulous ending for a special dog that can add to the child’s life. Sometimes there is no one to interceded and the animals are destroyed.

  6. I am a canine person (sorry Boss Kitty) and this is one of the reasons why they hold my adoration. We have two rescue dogs that have been fantastic additions to our family. Not as much as Xena, but still glad to have them on board.

    • I love dogs, too, but unfortunately we don’t have the space to keep them. My husband loves big dogs, and I like all sizes of dogs. I recently met a beautiful yellow lab at the nursing home where my sister lives. He was so wonderful with the residents there that I thought I would do a post on him. One day soon…

Leave a Reply

