JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

M is for Marathon (as in Boston Marathon, April 2013)

Boston Marathon banner

This quote by David Meyer sums up the feelings of us all about the tragic events in Boston on April 15, 2013.

I ran the Boston Marathon for 10 straight years.  I didn’t run today.  But over the past decade, I have witnessed close up — over and over again, the strength, the beauty and the determination at the heart of the human spirit.  And those are the very qualities which we must all call upon now to help transcend the utter horror of today, and continue, each in our own, quiet ways, to express the goodness implanted at the core of our souls.  May God grant comfort to the mourners, healing to the wounded, and the strength of faith to us all.   David Meyer, Senior Rabbi at Temple Emanu-El, Marblehead, MA

The following encouraging words were posted by Stella Carolyn on her blog.

Boston...peace

Strength. Love. Peace. Resilience. Boston. You will recover, but you will remember. Our thoughts and prayers go out to those killed or wounded, as well as to all the runners and supporters of the Boston Marathon.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “M is for Marathon (as in Boston Marathon, April 2013)

  1. I had to do a double take. David Meyer is the rabbi at the temple around the corner from me. He is a wonderful rabbi and man, as you probably can tell from the quote. When I first read this quote on FB it struck me as so spot on that I read it several times. I have to ask how it is that you came across his quote. Do you know David?

    • Sara, I first saw this quote on FB and tracked it to its source. Then I tried to see who had originally posted it and scrolled back through many, many posts, but I couldn’t find it. Did you post it?
      Rabbi Meyer is so articulate, and he has expressed our sorrow in words I couldn’t find for myself. My words end up sounding clunky.

      • I didn’t post it but I did like it so it may have shown up on your newsfeed. I hope you don’t mind that I posted your blog on David’s page so he would know about it.

      • No, Sara, I don’t mind. I was impressed with the Rabbi’s words and thought they should be shared. Nice to know that you know him. I lived in the Boston area a number of years ago, and visited friends in Marblehead a number of times. Beautiful area.

  2. Thanks, Janice, for such a timely and appropriate post after such a tragic day.

  3. I’m repeating Rabbi Meyer’s prayer for God’s help is the only way will get over and through yet another tragic event in our country. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

