JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

S is for Serendipity-Doo-Dah

    Serendipity-doo-dah, serendipity-day,

My, oh my, what a wonderful day!

   Plenty of sunshine heading my way.

        Serendipity-doo-dah, serendipity-day.

Okay, so I changed the words to this song a bit, but doesn’t it make you feel happy just to sing it?

Serendipity is one of my favorite words. It not only sounds good, it has a wonderful meaning: making fortunate or accidental discoveries while searching for other things.

Although Horace Walpole (c. 1754) reportedly coined the word serendipity from a Persian fairy tale, “The Three Princes of Serendip,” the story actually comes from a long oral tradition in India. Serendip (or Sarandip) is the former Ceylon, now Sri Lanka, an island off the southeastern coast of India.

The story goes something like this: The King of Serendip had three already well-educated sons, but he wanted them to have even more experiences so they would be wise leaders over the kingdom in the future. After a feigned disagreement, the King sent the princes away from Serendip, presumably to explore and learn more about the neighboring countries.

Out in the world, the three princes showed remarkable propensity for making seemingly wild, but educated guesses, that led to the recovery of a lame, one-eyed camel that had been recently stolen by a pregnant maiden. At first, the princes were accused of stealing the camel themselves since they knew so much about it, but the missing camel soon turned up wandering in the desert. After a short time of celebrating the camel’s return, the princes continued their world explorations.

The serendipity in this blog post is that it started out going in a totally different direction but soon took a turn of its own. In the process, I learned more about a very beautiful island whose theme, “One island. Many worlds.” can be seen in these photos. And now, I still have the first topic for another blog post. Serendipity!

YOUR TURN

Have you had a blog post that started out in one direction, then ended up somewhere else? What other serendipity discoveries have your made in your blog posts and in your life?

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “S is for Serendipity-Doo-Dah

  1. I love the word serendipity, too. And yes, my blog posts almost always start out as one thing and end up being an entirely different animal by the time I finish them. I find I’m more aware of serendipitious happenings in my life when I travel – possibly because I am more open to them.

    • This whole blogger thing is full of serendipity events. I have met so many wonderful new friends, and I love reading their blogs. I wish I had more time to explore more, but I try to read a few new bloggers’ posts every day.

  2. That’s a bit of interesting history to the word serendipity. I like what serendipity is – the word is a bonus! 🙂

  3. Pingback: V is for Va-ca-tion in Italy « JaniceHeck

  4. Pingback: V is for Va-ca-tion in Italy « JaniceHeck

Leave a Reply

