JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world…

I is for Italian Adventure

I was going to write about the beautiful purple iris of spring that remind me of my mom, but a serendipity connection with Michael Housewright of The Blissful Adventurer made me change my mind. Michael wrote about his upcoming trip to Italy, and that inspired me to write about my own upcoming two-week trip to Italy.

In early May, I will meet up in Florence, Italy with my sister-in-law Carol, my niece Christine, and her friend Inger-Anne. We will drive down from Florence (the capital city of the Tuscany region) to a villa in Positano, not far from San Gimignano, the well-known medieval walled city. We hope to wander the countryside, take many photographs of incredible scenery, visit several small towns, sample the local fare, and generally see what we can see.

From our villa, Il Cortile del Borgo, we will take day trips to San Gimignano, Pisa, Lucca, Livorno, Volterra, and Sienna. We also plan to spend two days in Florence. I have been to Florence and Rome before, but this is my first time to visit to Tuscany.

At the end of the first week, Christine and Inger-Anne will leave to go back home to Norway, and Carol and I will travel by train to spend a week in Rome.

We are looking forward to this grand adventure, and I plan to share my photographs and experiences on my blog. In the meantime, I am exploring blogs about travel in Italy, reviewing a bit of history, reading a few novels set in Italy, and reading some Italian memoirs. Can’t wait to go! Ciao!

YOUR TURN

Have you been to Italy? What were some of your favorite places and restaurants?

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “I is for Italian Adventure

  1. This sounds like a great trip Janice! I am going to post your query for suggestions on my Twitter 🙂

  2. I’ve only ever been to Italy in my imagination. I love Roman history and so one day I might get there. I hope you have a wonderful time.

  3. That sounds like fun! Don’t forget to ride in a gondola.

  4. Colette on said:

    We can compare notes when we return… I’ll soon be in Florence and Rome as well. 🙂

  5. Oooh, I’m jealous! Sounds like a great trip! I know I mentioned to you that I was in Italy last summer for about 3 1/2 weeks and it was amazing. I would have loved to have spent more time in Tuscany. My friend and I were in Siena for 3 days and Florence for 3 days before heading over to the Cinque Terre. We began the trip in Venice and ended in Rome and only traveled by train, which is why we didn’t get around much in Tuscany. When I return (and I will someday), I will probably rent a car for part of the trip and zoom around the Tuscan countryside a bit more.

  6. Yes, Tami, I remember your mention of the trip. I told my traveling mates about it. We have been checking out the travel guides for Tuscany and Rome, but did you have any favorites spots? Restaurants? We are renting a car, so we have some flexibility.

Leave a Reply

