JaniceHeck

My Time to Write, but The Cats have The Last Meow!

Janice Heck:

With the current diversity in our schools, teachers need resources that will encourage empathy and understanding of the political issues related to immigration as well as the social and emotional aspects of it. These books present immigration issues from the childrens’ point of view. This excellent list will be useful to librarians, teachers, and parents.

Originally posted on Nerdy Book Club:

Like any school librarian, I’m always looking for books that will connect with my students. There’s nothing like reading a new book and thinking, “Yes! I know just the child who will love this book…”

But at the elementary school where I teach outside of Washington, DC, matching books with kids isn’t always easy.  Eighty-eight percent of my students speak a language other than English, most read below grade level as they acquire English as a second or third language, and the vast majority are immigrants or children of immigrants. Finding books that reflect my students’ realities isn’t easy, which is partly why I chose to write about a boy who emigrates from Japan to the US in my middle grade novel Flying the Dragon.

Below is a list of ten books whose characters are recent immigrants to the US. For each title, I’ve added one common immigrant issue…

View original 1,425 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,628 other followers

